Saturday, October 31, 2020
The State College & University Professional Association (SCUPA)

The State College and University Professional Association (SCUPA)
 represents professionals who are the Assistant and Associate Directors
of Admissions, Financial Aid, Student Activities, Residence Life, Judicial, Registrars, 
Tutorial and Academic Assistance Services, Career Services, Alumni Relations, 
grant funded programs, and others working in student development
across all 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education.



2020 - 2022  SCUPA Officers

President: Todd Spaulding
Vice President: 
Brad Henry
Julene Pinto-Dyczewski
Treasurer: Bill Zimmerman
Membership Chair: John Gradel

2017 - 2019 Members-At-Large
R. Chad Brown, Sheleta Camarda-Webb, Fran Cortez Funk, and Rita Miller  

News & Other info
SCUPA Member speaks to BOG - Wednesday, October 14, 2020

R. Chad Brown addressed the Board of Governors on behalf of SCUPA on October 14, 2020.  Chad shared the important work that many SCUPA professionals provide in direct support of student success.  He shared a powerful story of his own work with a Kutztown student who faced many challenges but through support was able to graduate.

He highlighted how dedicated SCUPAs are to their institutional success, while asking the administration to include SCUPAs in critical institutional conversations as discussions on integration occur into the future.

We thank Chad for his representation of SCUPA at this BOG meeting!

President's Corner

Todd Spaulding - SCUPA President

Todd recently shared an update with members.  He shared that four institutions are currently facing furloughs.  The union leadership is providing support to ensure that contract language is followed.

Additional updates from the SCUPA state level leadership also includes:  In late July, the incoming SCUPA Executive Board met for a transition meeting to discuss goals, objectives, and the work they want to complete over the next two years.  In early September, the Fall Executive Board and the Presidents’ Council meetings occurred where participants discussed what was happening on each of the campuses, discussed membership numbers, budgets, and various other policy matters.

Last but not least, PSEA's Kelly Compeau will be hosting a variety of professional development opportunities on the following topics:  
Union Structure and Function – How your union is set up to operate and how it fits into the larger PSEA picture. (30-45 minutes)
The Business End of the Union – Conducting business within your union, with PSEA, and with the IRS.  (60-75 minutes)
Advocating for your Members – Laying the foundation for helping members who come to you with problems. (30-45 minutes)
Meetings with Management – Rights of employees and union advocates when meeting with management. (30-45 minutes)
Grievances and More – Methods to resolve the problems members encounter. (45-60 minutes)



are full dues-paying employees. Members have full voting rights and are eligible to hold elected office at the campus and/or state level. Members receive PSEA and NEA benefits and discounts, and access to the secure section of the SCUPA website. Members are eligible to participate in your campus listserv.

receive representation from PSEA and a copy of the contract. They are not eligible to vote, nor hold office at any level. Non-members do not receive PSEA nor NEA benefits and discounts and are allowed only public access to the SCUPA website. Non-members are NOT eligible to participate in your campus listserv.

How to Become a SCUPA Member
Each Campus President (or your campus’s Membership Chairperson) meets with all newly-hired SUA employees to discuss what SCUPA/PSEA/NEA does and the importance and benefits of membership.  The Campus President or Membership Chair assists the new employee in completing their membership enrollment forms. 

 1) Contact John Gradel or your Campus PResident

2)  Complete a PSEA New Member Enrollment Form

 3) Complete the Dues Deduction Authorization Form


Copyright (c) 2020 SCUPA   |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use